Adopting open standards & the Principles in a peacebuilding org

My name is Andy Carl, I’m based in London, and I’m interested in your work and I am looking at how to engage.

I have been working in the field of peacebuilding for many years, and I recently stepped down as a founder director of www.c-r.org Amongst other things I have been cooperating with Factr.com on an aggregated news feed on peace processes around the world called Peace Talks (also available on Twitter @PeaceNewstream)

I am also doing a lot of work around efforts to promote synergies in a sector that is challenged to realise its collective potentials. I have also recently written on some of these issues: (https://www.peaceinsight.org/blog/2018/03/building-peace-line/)

I have two questions I wonder if you could help me with:

1. The first is around the principle of Using Open Standards: I was not ICT trained and in our Peace Talks project we need to be able to access website (RSS) feeds to pick up and share information (especially from non governmental sources). It seems that many many organisations do not make their content RSS accessible or in the public commons. Is that right? Is there are reason for this? Are there other simple ways for an aggregator to access their content?
  2. My second question is more about tactics than technology - do you have any advice on how to convince the leading peacebuilding orgs to make this change? I read the digital principles doc - but it did not seem to get specific on this point. I have spent some time and energy on this and I would be willing to spend more, but I need advice on what approaches might work. (is the focus on RSS access simply too specific?)

Many thanks for considering this.

Hi @acarl! Welcome to the forum, it’s good to have you here.